The Commission, consisting of five members, shall be appointed by the City Council. Each member shall serve a three-year term and until the member’s successor is appointed and qualified. To be qualified, a member must take an oath that the member will faithfully and impartially perform the duties of the office. The Commission shall meet at least twice each month. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson, and, in addition, a majority of the Commission may call a special meeting by giving two days’ written notice sent by first class mail to each member that did not join in the request for the special meeting. Three members of the Commission constitute a quorum.

Meeting Schedule

The Commission generally meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month with some exceptions.  Here is the 2020 Commission Schedule.  

Please note that beginning July 9, 2019, the Commission meeting venue has changed to the Hibbing City Hall, Council Chambers, 401 E. 21st Street, Hibbing MN. Meeting times remain at 5:00 p.m.

Pursuant to MN State Statute 13.D.021 Subd 1(1)(2)(3)(4), the HPU Commission will meet by phone without anyone else being present at the regular site due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

City Hall will no longer be open for HPU Commission meetings until further notice due to COVID-19 Pandemic and no one will be at City Hall for the meeting due to COVID-19.  Meetings will be held via GoToMeeting format.

The regular meeting of Tuesday, July 28, 2020 regular Commission meeting will be held remotely at 5:00 p.m. from the Hibbing Public Utilities via GoToMeeting. Access is as follows:  Call: 1-(571) 317-3122     Access Code: 832-881-429

A Work Session has been set for Monday, July 27, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. at the Hibbing City Hall, Council Chambers, 401 E. 21st St., Hibbing MN.  Items of discussion include: 1) Financial Discussion Including Expense Allocations; 2) Hutchinson Field Inspection; 3) City Council Special Election Steam Questions & Process; 4) HPU Internet Service Proposal; and 5) Future Loan Program Options. Please note that COVID-19 Protocol will be in effect. Attendees are encouraged to a wear face mask, although not mandatory. GoToMeeting access is as follows:  Call: 1-872-240-3212  Access Code:  771-070-901



Documents and Forms

See also: